Hit & Run (VC 20002)
In California you may be charged with a hit and run if the following occurred if: you left the scene of an accident, failed to identify yourself to parties involved, and caused property damage.
- A misdemeanor hit and run in California is concerned with property damage.
- A Felony hit and run in California is concerned with injury; you may be charged with a felony if the other party sustained any injuries or death.
Penalties (VC 20002)
- A misdemeanor hit and run can result in fines up to $1,000 or 6 months in county jail. Informal probation may be granted for a period of 36 months. Restitution fees to damages may also be imposed. The DMV will also count this as 2 points on your driving record.
- A felony hit and run can result in fines up to a staggering $10,000. In most cases, a prison sentence of 3 years will be imposed. If death or serious injury occurs, the prison sentence could be raised to up to 4 years. A felony hit and run is considered a “wobbler” giving the prosecutor the discretion to consider the charge as a misdemeanor or felony.
What Is a Hit and Run Accident?
A hit and run accident is any accident in which a driver intentionally leaves the scene without providing contact information.
Examples of hit and run accidents include:
- A car hits you and speeds off.
- A driver hits your unattended parked car and leaves no contact information or way of collecting damages.